2018 Dakar glory for Sainz, Peugeot Sport and BFGoodrich®

The 40th-edition of the Dakar was won by Peugeot Sport/BFGoodrich®’s Carlos Sainz and his co-driver Lucas Cruz. The Spaniards’ second win on the celebrated cross-country rally spearheaded a one-two-three finish for BFGoodrich®.

The 9,000-kilometre marathon from Lima, Peru, to Cordoba, Argentina, saw Carlos Sainz claim his second and Peugeot Sport’s seventh Dakar victory by a margin of 43mm40s over second-placed Nasser Al-Attiyah (Toyota Gazoo Racing/BFGoodrich®).

The 40th-edition Dakar was marked by particularly harsh conditions which produced a long retirements list.

Yet the new BFGoodrich® All Terrain T/A KDR2+ - which was designed specifically with the world’s toughest rally in mind – overcame the fortnight’s punishing cocktail of sand, dunes, mud and rocks to celebrate its maiden attempt at the event by earning the American tire brand’s 14th Dakar success.

Nasser Al-Attiyah and Giniel de Villiers (Toyota Overdrive) clinched second and third places to make it an all-BFGoodrich® podium at the finish in Cordoba.

See also:

  • DAKAR 2018

    Backstage of Markus Walcher’s Dakar


  • DAKAR 2018

    Looking back on the 2018 Dakar… and l...


  • DAKAR 2018

    Searing heat and efficient stage star...